Announcement

Collapse

Flagging spam

if you see a spam post, don't reply or comment on it. Just flag it. We get those flag reports and take action. That action is pretty simple. If the post is obviously spam we delete and then check few boxes to delete all other posts by that user and ban them permanently. If the post is questionable as spam then we can suspend the user and then send them a message to work it out.
So when it doubt - Flag The Post
See more
See less

Setting up carburator for high elevation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Setting up carburator for high elevation

Hello, Nate here. I’ve been creeping these forums for 3-4 years and now I’m finally getting around to do some work on my 2004 1700 Roadstar. It has BuB pipes that look like all the guts have been taken out and a kuryakyn high five air cleaner kinda looks like the alley cat series. I live at about 4,200 feet above sea level. I need to pull and clean my carb and while I’m at it I’d like to do all carb mods in the forum. My question is would the jet set up listed in the forums 172/40 jets 4th ring up on the Barons needle still work at my elevation? Some of the guys here are telling me they run with 163 or 162.5? Also there many articles on tuning and adjusting the carb but no articles that I have found take you from start to finish on what to adjust first before going on to the next step of adjustment. Oh and I’ll be porting my intake while I have the carb out and doing the fuel pump delete by putting in the grizzly float needle. Any help would be much appreciated.

That is the beauty of this carb, no need to worry about elevation changes, Jet it for the 1700cc and your good.

Comment

That’s great news! Thank you for the fast response roadiemort. I’ll order the parts right now.

Comment

• texasscott1
        texasscott1 commented
        Editing a comment