Gear head gene

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gear head gene

I enjoy wrenching on my bike, it all started wrenching on cars, Oldsmobile specifically. Raced them ( 67 442) back before marriage and kids. Now kids are grown, and my son has taken an interest. ( glad someone got the gear head gene) He found a nice survivor, 67 Cutlass, so far we converted drum brakes to 4 disc brakes, rebuilt front end with poly bushings, ball joints, tie rods, etc, new floor pans (I live in NYS, salt sucks ass) so he learned how to mig weld and sent a 425 BB to the race shop. It's been a great father/son project over the winter. Do some of you wrench on your car......let's see some pics of your beauty!

I'm just getting started on this one, '76 F250 4X4 Highboy.

Comment

• Deerkiller
      Deerkiller commented
      Editing a comment
      Nice. Have wanted an old 4x4 Ford that’s done up real nice with a modern FI engine and transmission for awhile now. Ah well, not at the top of my priority list unfortunately. Maybe put the running gear out of a 2020 F-250 in a 1978 truck and see what happens...

• 03LiquidSilver
      03LiquidSilver commented
      Editing a comment
      Nice project there!! A friend had a 4 door Ford 4X4 close in year, his dad owned a body shop, impressive rigs!

• KCpartsguy
      KCpartsguy commented
      Editing a comment
      Well, it's a mess. Sat outside for 28 years, but I did get it to fire up and run a little. Carb is toast, fuel pump leaks, brakes are shot. And those are the good parts! Only has 90k on it and seat is perfect, old man said it rode too rough so he parked it and bought a 2WD truck.

That looks like quite a project 03LiquidSilver. Nice to have a good place to work on that. What kind of ramps is that on? Is that part of an alignment rack or something else?

Comment

• 03LiquidSilver
      03LiquidSilver commented
      Editing a comment