Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings from a potential Road Star Newbie

Greetings from Boston (for now)!

While I'm a newbie to this forum, I'm not to motorcycle riding. Rode for many years after college until family and kids came along. Took up riding again after 27 year hiatus and have an '01 Suzuki Volusia VL800 and an '07 Suzuki C50T, which have been great. A pending move to Arizona now has me reassessing the suitability of these smaller bikes for the higher highway speeds and mountainous terrain in my new location, so it's time to look for a bigger bike. I have a line on a friend's well maintained 2002 XV1600A with 14K on it. By all my research, this model seems to be pretty bullet-proof and a great ride. Any thoughts or advice from members of this forum? Thanks!

Ride Safe & Often!

Agree, great bikes.

Comment

from Solon IA. I too went on a hiatus from bikes when the kids were young. Back now with a Road* and couldn't be happier.

Comment

Buy it if the price is right. About $2500-3250 if it needs nothing. Lots of things to improve comfort and ride quality. Seats, shock/springs, pipes/air filter, etc. Tons of info on the forum. Bulletproof bikes 200k+ mile bikes if you take care of them. Cheap to own. Lots of torque can hit 115 mph and go about 200-225 miles per tank on the highway before all empty.

Comment

from California. They're great bikes, not likely as smooth or quiet as your Boulevard because they're air cooled, but much smoother than Harleys. They make lots of mechanical noise that many new owners think is an issue, until they realize it's just normal R* sounds. They are a little more quirky than you're typical Japanese bike, in that they're more like an old school V-Twin, but very reliable, very torquey, and easy to work on.

Comment

from NH. R's are great bikes if you like the old school feel. Set one up right and you will love it. Super dependable.

Comment