Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• motor dies when put in to gear

Greetings all,
    I sure hope somebody can help with this, cause I’m all out of options.
    2005 road star, 42mm mikuni, no pump, dyna 3000 ignition, barnett spring plate.
    The motor dies when put into gear. Bike idles fine, revs fine (love that 42).
    BA voltage was 12.5 volts at time of test. Engine stop switch is in run. So far I’ve checked:
    Wire harness for damage and continuity. All wires are good condition, connected securely with 0.000 ohm readings (have continuity). Also no shorts
    according to schematics. I am not an electrician, but I do understand dc, diodes, the sccr relay, 4 and 5 pin relays, positive side switching,
    neg side switching, I can breakdown a circuit for voltage drop, series and parallel, etc. guys, I can't find this bastard.
    Pick up coil: pulled the clutch cover and inspected the coil and lead, all good, in place w/ no damage–ohmed out at 282 ohms 72 degrees f
    Ignition coils: primary coil resistance: rear coil = 1.59-1.62, front coil = 1.58-1.61
    Secondary resistance: rear =14.16, front = 14.21
    Plug caps resistance: Front cylinder- left 956, right 937. Rear jug- left 953, right 889
    Neutral safety switch: engine off, ignition on, 12.5 volts (ba voltage) / 0 ohms when in neutral. 0 volts / infinity ohms when in gear.
    Manual says this is factory normal. NC when in neutral.
    Clutch safety switch: lever pulled 12.5 volts / 0 ohms. Lever out infinity / 0 volts
    Side stand switch: removed 8 years ago and wires hard connected together. Permanently up.
    SCCR replaced with new that passed all checks.
    Reg/rectifier: passed all diode checks and putting out 13.9-14.2v at 5000 ripums.
    Stator: Ohmed out at 46,46,49. No grounds on any terminal

I did get the bike to run when IN gear if the neutral switch is bypassed; by disconnecting the sky blue bullet connector, jumping the female (wire harness side) to ground.