Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

2005 Road Star Silverado that hasn't run in at least a year. What should I do first

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2005 Road Star Silverado that hasn't run in at least a year. What should I do first

I'm new to the V-Star/Road Star bikes so I'm frantically doing as much research as I can. Long story short, I just bought a 2005 Road Star, sight unseen, from an older woman (78 yr/old) whose husband died about 9 months ago after being hospitalized for at least 2 months. Prior to that he was 'very weak and had not ridden for awhile'. Given the nature of the situation, I was not able to get specifics, however I'm a friend of the family so can verify the story. I have not inspected the bike as it is far away, but it is being delivered at the end of the week. I know this sounds shady as heck, but the people I am dealing with are good people, and I trust them.

I'm looking for input on what to do when the bike arrives. It's been garaged on a battery tender since it was last parked, but I assumed the battery is shot. I'm assuming I'll need a new battery. Is there anything special I should be looking at? Right now I'm planning on a simple 12v, 310CCA from Autozone. Are there any tricks or tips for installing the new battery? Are there any batteries that are better for these bikes?

I'm also assuming the gas is bad and will be draining the tank. Is there an easy way to draining the tank? I'm currently planning on just using a simple transfer pump to pump out the old gas, unless there is a better, more efficient way to do it. The mileage is low, under 10k, but I have no idea if the plugs have been changed. How easy is it to change the plugs, and would that be beneficial? Same with the air cleaner - what's the typical change interval? Anything I should be looking at with the brakes?

Lastly - what am I missing - what else should I plan on doing prior to getting this beast on the road?

Thanks -